writing

NaNoWriMo: Sunday Write-in and Day 2 totals

Participant-2014-Twitter-Profile

Sunday was my first group Write-in. It’s held at this great coffee shop in Vancouver about ten miles from my house. I discovered the place last year while doing write-ins and stop by often to work on my writing and drink yummy French vanilla cappuccinos.

I took my middle daughter with me this time because she’d doing the Young Writer’s Program through NaNoWriMo. She had a blast hanging out, drinking coffee, and writing. The group also loved her–as she tends to be the comic relief wherever she goes. The YWP allows children to set their own word count goals. She’s almost twelve and has set a goal of 20,000 words. Good luck to her!

After the three hour write-in, I was up to 4,060 words with intentions of writing more. Alas, that didn’t work out–exhaustion, dinner, The Walking Dead, reading My Immortal with my oldest daughter, and homework got in the way.

Still ahead for the day.