Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

nanowrimo

It’s that time of the year again.  Time for NaNo!  And, as usual, I’m getting nothing done.

NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month.  It is a writing challenge to finish a 50,000 word novel by the end of November.  I’ve tried my luck every year since 2005 and the first year I got the closest with 20,000 words.

Last year I think I made it to just under 10,000.

November is a crazy month with my daughter’s birthday (she’ll be 6 next weekend) and Thanksgiving and other stuff.

I really hadn’t finalized my story idea yet so last night around 10:30pm I sat down to brainstorm.  I tried to add to my original idea but it just wasn’t clicking.  My mind kept wandering back to the story I worked on last year…the one I mention above (the story).  I love the characters.  In fact I think I’m in love with my main male character.  I just adore him (and he’s a complete jerk through most of the story, lol).

So I gave up avoiding rehashing the story and tried to work out a better summary then last year.  So I’m going to write that story but I still don’t know where to start.  I need to write 1667 words by midnight to stay on track and I have nothing.  Technically I hand wrote 8 pages early this morning but they aren’t actually part of the novel so boo! they don’t count.

The problem I’m having, which was the same one that cropped up last year, is the fact that half the story is flashback.  I’m having a hard time integrating them into the story without it feeling forced.

I wrote a fanfiction that was half flashback before.  The flashbacks appeared as dreams and memories that the main character kept having as he took naps and daydreamed throughout the story.  But that really doesn’t work for this story.

I also can’t decide on a POV.  Last year I wrote it 3rd person limited which is my preferred writing style.  But as I wrote up the summaries it made more sense and was more powerful in 1st person.  I don’t like writing in 1st person for some reason.

So, nothing is getting done writing-wise.  It didn’t help that I woke up with a roaring headache and the kids have done nothing but misbehave all day.  My 8yo and almost 6yo daughters got into a cottage cheese fight and destroyed the kitchen while their 7yo brother watched.  Then while I had them clean it up they started fighting over the brooms so I had to do it myself before I snapped.  Finally I gave up and told my dad I was taking a nap (so he could keep an eye on my 2yo).  I slept for an hour before my husband got home and reigned in order.  The kids always take advantage of me when they know I have a headache or migraine.  They know there isn’t much I can do to make them stop when my head feels like it is going to explode.  Little snots.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

