Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

getting a new computer

I am so, so, so excited.  I feel like a kid at Christmas, lol.

With our taxes hubby said I could get a new computer.  Mine, as I’ve mentioned a few times here, has died.  I guess a more accurate description is it is on life support.  I’ve had to take the side off of the case to use my window fan to blow air on the CPU and graphics card to make it semi-useable.

Originally I was going to keep costs down and only get a slight upgrade but my husband said to just get when I really need/want so that the computer lasts a few years (this one is 2 years old and would probably still be good for my uses for another few years if it hadn’t broke).

So this is what I have right now:

  • Gateway (bought at Best Buy)
  • Pentium D duo core processor at 3.0ghz
  • 2gb of ram
  • 256mb graphics card (but most of the memory is shared with the ram…but it runs really well and plays the Sims 2 and Spore fine which are my 2 most graphic intesnsive games I play)
  • 500gb hard drive
  • tv tuner (that I never use…yet)
  • dvd burner and extra dvd player
  • 8 in 1 memory card reader
  • onboard sound card

This is what I’m getting:

  • HP computer (because that is what they had that was configureable at Costco.com)
  • Pentium Core 2 Quad core CPU at 2.66ghz
  • 6gb of ram
  • 768mb graphics card
  • 1tb hard drive
  • tv tuner (that I will hopefully get around to using)
  • dvd burner and player
  • 15 in 1 memory card reader (which will be nice because the one on my old computer hasn’t worked in like a year so I have to use the one on my printer)
  • SoundBlaster sound card

Hubby said I can also look at monitors while we are out and external hard drives.  I was going to order the external hard drive with the computer but I saw the same kind with more space for cheaper price at Best Buy so I’ll wait.

The monitor I have now is okay.  It’s 2 years old.  It’s a 19″ flat panel by Samsung and every thing is all crisp and clear and all but my 2yo took something sharp and scratched the screen all up.  It’s still useable but the scratches are annoying, especially on a bright, white screen.  So I’m looking to upgrade to a 20″ wide screen.  I’m not sure if anything bigger will fit on my desk.  This one clears the shelf above the desk by just an inch or so.  I’d love a 22″ (since I watch a lot of DVDs on my computer and like to sit on my bed across the room while I watch) but I don’t think I have space for it.

I’m also getting a new graphics tablet.  I have an old Wacom Graphire (that they don’t make any more) that I got in 2007 sometime.  With in a few months of getting it we were in the process of moving and our idiot landlord decided to pack up our stuff for us while I was out of town on a family emergency and I didn’t get the pen to the tablet back (along with a lot of other stuff…over $4000 worth of stuff to be exact including our bed, most of the kids toys, all of my youngest daughter’s stuffed animals and our wedding rings).

So I’m getting one of the new Bamboo Fun tablets.  Again, I’d love something bigger but I don’t have room on my desk.  The tablet I have no fits perfectly next to the keyboard.  Anything bigger and I wouldn’t have a place to put it so the Bamboo tablet should fit, too.

I’m just so excited.  The tablet should be here in 7-10 days.  The computer should ship next Monday but I don’t know how long it will take to get here (it’s coming FedEx).  I can’t wait to get it up and running and get all my stuff installed so I can get back to normal with my computer using.  I can play the Sims 2 again and Spore (I barely got the game and then the computer died) and I can actually do my scrapbooking without it bogging down and having to cool off for several hours.  I’m getting Photoshop Elements 7 with the computer because it was cheaper to buy it that way then to even buy the upgrade and download it so…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

