Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

FOBTY–the zoo

I love the zoo. I still remember going to Brookfield when I was like 12 and walking from the loop to Lincoln Park when I was 16 and, of course, that time me and my cousins sneaked into John Ball Park Zoo in Grand Rapids, MI. I was like 7 or 8 when we did that.

Now we have a membership to Brookfield and used to take the kids a lot. They are getting older and don’t always want to go any more but I still love it. When we lived in PA the first thing we did was get a membership to the Pittsburgh Zoo. That came with free admission to a bunch of other zoos. In the 2 years we lived there we also visited the Cleveland Zoo several times and went to the Columbus Zoo once (which was awesome and we didn’t have enough time to properly explore…or a camera).

I’m not sure if I have a favorite animal. I always loved the polar bears when I was a kid (who doesn’t) but I prefer the smaller indoor exhibits now. Each zoo that we’ve been to has had different ones and they are all unique and fun. The Pittsburgh Zoo was great with their indoor exhibits.

My favorite at Brookfield Zoo is probably their Desert exhibit where they have the Meerkats. Those little guys are so cute. I just love the feel of those exhibits…they take you to a different time.

I still remember the first time I stepped into the ape house at Brookfield when they upgraded to what they have now (I was probably 12). It was fantastic. We rarely go in there with the kids. For one it is always packed, and two, I’m terrified one of them will fall (it’s happened…a kid fell into the gorilla habitat when I was a teen) but we saw a baby gorilla there last year. The kids loved it.

Man, now I want to go to the zoo. Our membership expired, though, and we don’t have the money to get a new one right now.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

