Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

30 days of fanfic writing meme (13)

13 – Do you prefer canon or fanon when you write? Has writing fanfic for a fandom changed the way you see some or even all of the original source material?

Hmm.  I probably straddle that line pretty precariously.  On one hand I do like stories that follow canon but I have a hard time writing them simply because I am a shipper.  Jack and Sam never got together on the show (in any real sense) but I prefer to read between the lines.  There are a lot of little fanon details I’ve picked up and used in my stories.  I try to only use ones that have some basis in canon.  Most of them I use because it’s what I’ve read into the show (like Daniel’s love of coffee, Jack’s hatred of paperwork).

I think one of the good things about writing for the sci-fi genre is that anything can change, even canon.  Just look at the Star Trek reboot.  Talk about changing.  But it worked.  Off topic but I remember watching it and thinking, “this is all wrong… Kirk knew his father and he sure outranked Sulu and Chekov when they joined the crew” and then I got that it was an AU.  Probably a little too late into the movie, lol.  But I still enjoyed it.

Okay, that had nothing to do with the topic at hand.  To answer the question plainly: I like both.  I like to walk the line, using canon when needed and digging into fanon when appropriate to add to the story because there is only so much that was shown on the TV show but a lot more hinted at and the fans have filled in the blanks.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

