Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

beating my muse into submission

Not sure that’s the best way to treat my muse.  Probably not.  She’ll be mad.  But she needs to get her ass in gear.

My [info]sg1friendathon  still isn’t done.  STILL!  What the hell is wrong with me.  Although I’m getting much help from my wonderful beta [info]nymaeria .  She’s really helped me get the story on track and focused because I couldn’t figure out what the hell I was doing with it.  She took one look at it, saw the problem I was having and helped me figure out how to fix it.  YAY for good betas.  🙂

So the story is moving along but I’m having trouble finding time to concentrate on it with the kids.  They are driving me up a wall.  Just three weeks until school starts.  It’s becoming my new mantra.  In fact three weeks from today will be the first day all four of my older kids are in school ALL DAY.  The older three start on the 30th but my kindergartener only goes 2 1/2 days a week.  Tuesday is not one of the days she goes.  So her first day is the 31st but the younger three kids have half days every Wednesday (my middle schooler has a full day) so they’ll be home by 1pm.  Thursday, though all four are in school.  Oldest leaves at 7am to get to her bus stop and will get home a little after 3pm.  The elementary kids leave at 8am and get home around 4pm.  So 8am-3pm it’s just me and Jack and he takes a two hour nap.  YAY!  Oh, wait.  My husband will be home most likely.  D’oh.  Well, at least we can go get some breakfast or something, lol.

On to other Muse issues.  I organized all my challenges for [info]stargateland  and [info]fictionland  the other day (yes, I have actual lists so I don’t forget).  Part of my blockage was due to the fact that I had all these other little projects I needed to work on but I wasn’t “allowing” myself to do anything.  Like punishment for not finishing the friendathon.  Well, that’s not helpful at all.  My Muse was not happy.  So the other night I refused to even look at the friendathon story and focused on my other challenges.  I finished the three dialogue only stories pretty quick.  The next on my list was a challenge at [info]fictionland  to write about the 7 Deadly Sins.  I wasn’t sure I was even going to do that one because every story idea made my characters sound like big asshats.

Then I realized my main fandom is scifi and aliens make them do all sorts of idiot things.  And, voila!  A story is born.  And it’s one that seems to be flowing.  And so far very teamy.  With this had been my friendathon story, lol.  I wrote 3 pages the first night (that’s longhand).  Last night I worked on it and added 11 more pages and it’s just getting into the meat & potatoes of the story where Jack starts acting crazy.  I’m hoping to get it done by the August 16 deadline.  Either way it’s shaping up to be a good story.

So, maybe my muse doesn’t need a beating.  But she sure is aggravating me lately.  I am thinking of dropping out of [info]het_bigbang .  I have zero words written and need 9k by next week and then just a little over a month left to write the rest.  Don’t think that’s going to happen.  Sad, I know.  But something has to give here.  I do have an angsty Sam/Jack story planned for it but I don’t think I’ll have time to finish it.  Not that I haven’t written 25k words in less time than that I just have too much else on my plate.  Sigh.

[needs to learn not to procrastinate with big projects]

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

