Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

why did I answer the door?

Ugh.  I should know better.  We don’t know anyone here, the kids are all in school and I’m not expecting packages.  Why did I answer the door?  There’s only one thing it could be: missionaries.  Or in this case super fundamental religious people trying to sell books.

I was happily watching the commentary on the first episode of Farscape and knitting up a little stuffed animal for my Meagan’s friend (it’s her birthday today and we have no money for gifts).  Even though my husband went in to work today I’ve had limited time to just relax and enjoy my day without noise and distractions.  I had to walk to the store again today so that took an hour and cleaning up the house and lunch.  Jack laid down at like 1pm and I threw a load of laundry in and sat down to watch and knit.  Hubby gets home at 2:30 and Meagan at 3pm.  I wanted to get this animal done before then.

And then the doorbell rings.  These people start off as if they’re touting healthy living, show me a cook book.  And then move on to Bibles and god and blah, blah, blah.  There’s no opportunity to tell them I’m not interested, they just keep blabbering on.  Finally they ask me if I’m interested in the books which were all super Christian and probably full of factual errors and I said, “no.”  And then the guy (who was super nice, they both were) asks why and I’m like I’m just not into religion.  So he asks, “but you still believe in god,” like the thought of meeting anyone that doesn’t is just beyond him.

How do these people find me.  At least the Jehovah’s Witnesses leave after 30 seconds if you tell them you’re not interested.  Unlike the Mormon boys that acosted me on the street last week.  I’m trying to get home in time for the kids to get off the bus, it’s hotter than hell, I was sick and in a bad mood to begin with.  They crossed the street to start preaching to me and when I said I wasn’t interested they kept pressing me.  For a full block they badgered me to take their card and listen to their word.  How much plainer can I get than, “I AM NOT INTERESTED”?

And now these people.  Once they found out I didn’t believe in their god the preaching started.  The girl (again, super sweet young girl from the Ukraine) starts going on and on about creation science and how it makes so much more sense than evolution.  I could tell just from talking to them that they are completely clueless as to what evolution really is.  The fact that they mention “the big bang” theory was enough to know they didn’t understand what the hell they were talking about.  It took every ounce of will power not to roll my eyes.

Up until now I’d only met these people online.  Now I know they really do exist in the real world.  But, they left shortly after that when they realized they weren’t going to sway me but they were giving me all this pity like they felt sorry I didn’t see their god the way they did and my life must be so horrible.  Whatever.

The whole time all I could think was why couldn’t Jack wake up NOW.  Then I’d have an excuse to leave.  They sure couldn’t read body language because everything about my stance screamed “really not interested in this.”

They finally leave and I go back inside to find my commentary is in the credits.  Grrr.  I had gotten to the point where Aeryn is “irrevocably contaminated” and they are detained by the Peacekeepers.  Only to come back and the show is over.  Shows how long they kept me captive and I’m too nice to just tell them to get lost.

Then I have my husband texting me wanting me to make dinner to be ready when he gets home at 2:30.  For crying out loud, dinner isn’t until 5pm.

Now he’ll be home in a half hour and I didn’t get an freaking time to myself.  And I have a migraine.  Grrr.

[again: I have no issue with religious people I just wish they’d leave me the hell alone.]

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

