Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

TV meme

Snurched this from [info]pirateveronica.

Name a show you like that no one else enjoys: SGU–it really sucked me in the second season, especially the last like 8 episodes or so.  I didn’t want it to end.  *sniff sniff*

Name a TV show which you’ve been known to sing the theme song of: What show don’t I sing the theme song to.  My oldest cracked up when she heard me singing along to the Big Bang Theory.  She was like, “you know all the words, too?”  I’ve been known to randomly hum the theme from How I Met Your Mother and break into the theme song from That 70s Show and Enterprise and Veronica Mars.

Name a show you would recommend everyone to watch: Farscape–it’s just epic

Name a TV series you own: We have lots on DVD…all seasons of Buffy, Angel, SG-1 (plus the 2 movies), Veronica Mars, Firefly (and Serenity), Farscape (plus PKW), Tru Calling.  6 seasons of House, 3 seasons of SGA, 1 season of Dollhouse, 1 season of That 70s Show, 1 season of Sons of Anarchy, 1 season of The Walking Dead, 1 season of Castle, 3 seasons of Eureka, 1 season of Fringe, 3 seasons of Bones, 3 seasons of HIMYM…Um I think that’s all.

Name an actor who launched his/her entertainment career in another medium, but has surprised you with his/her acting choices in television: I really don’t know.  I’m kind of surprised at all the movie actors settling down with small screen rolls lately.  Not sure if I’m really surprised but I find it interesting.

What is your favourite episode of your favourite series?  I don’t think I could pick a favorite SG-1 episode…anything that’s Sam/Jack shippy or just super funny is high on the list.

Name a show you keep meaning to watch, but you just haven’t gotten around to yet: I used to have a list of shows I wanted to check out that I never got around to…don’t know where it is but I remember Farscape was on it and so many of my flist enjoyed it that I finally just bought the whole dang series on DVD (glad I did).

Ever quit watching a show because it was so bad?  I think I made it through 10 minutes of Up All Night before I turned it off.  I have kids of my own and it was just so far over the top I couldn’t watch it.  We even had 3 kids right in a row (so a 2yo, 1yo and a newborn) and we weren’t that crazy.

Name a show that’s made you cry multiple times: Angel…OMG, when Angel realizes Cordy is actually dead…the tears.  And then when Fred turns into Ilyria and then Wes dies in her arms.  Farscape had me in tears a few times, too.  Warehouse 13–not only have I burst into tears during different episodes I was crying so hard in the season finale this summer that my kids thought I had lost it.  And when I tried to explain to my 11yo what had happened in the show (she occasionally watches it) I couldn’t get the words out.  I just turned it on and told her to watch because I couldn’t say it without crying.

What’s your current unpopular TV opinion?: that reality TV should be banned from television (well, it’s unpopular among the people I know IRL who are addicted to reality TV), SGU was just as good as the other Stargate series (but for different reasons)

What do you eat when you watch TV? depends…sometimes it’s dinner, sometimes popcorn, sometimes nothing

How often do you watch TV? I used to watch it a lot but over the years I’ve mostly stopped.  I have hearing problems so if the kids are in the house I can’t actually hear the TV even if I’m sitting a few feet away from it.  So I DVR everything and watch it after they are in bed but that only leaves a couple hours to watch and I don’t watch every night.  Then once a month or so I have a big marathon to catch up on all the shows I like that my husband doesn’t watch (mostly sci-fi stuff).

What’s the last TV show you watched? American Horror Story–that show is cracky

What’s your favourite/preferred genre of TV? definitely sci-fi, but I like anything that can mix drama and humor with quirky characters and some good storylines

What was the first TV show you were obsessed with? I really don’t remember.  Maybe TNG.  I remember getting into it because I was home sick or something and they were rerunning some episode about Wesley and I thought it was interesting so I started tuning in to watch all the reruns, then started watching the new episodes.  I didn’t want to miss any of them.  But other than that I don’t really remember being “obsessed” with a show until I was an adult (the first was probably That 70s Show)

What will turn you off the fastest from a TV show? Tons of stupid, pointless drama…Like, I can’t stand Desperate Housewives…I just don’t get the appeal.  I never could stand Seinfeld…it was all so pointless and stupid.  HIMYM is going the way of Seinfeld and I’m slowly disliking it more and more.  It gets on my last nerve with them obsessing over stupid crap.

What TV show do you wish you never watched? no idea, if I didn’t like it than I’ve probably forgotten it already

What’s the weirdest show you enjoyed? World’s Dumbest…it’s one of those top 20 stupid things people do shows on Tru TV.  I record all the new episodes.  Not because I think the videos are particularly funny (although most are) I just LOVE listening to the “celebrities” comment on them–Tonya Harding, Leif Garrett, Frank Stallone, Todd Bridges, Danny Bonaduce…it’s freaking hilarious.  Half the time I have to pause it to catch my breath because I’m laughing so hard.

What TV show scared you the most? The Walking Dead.  I HATE zombies and my husband knows it but he wanted to watch it so I agreed to sit with him during the 2nd season opener.  I held a blanket up to my face almost the entire episode.  I was so freaked out I was shaking and tense all over.  He kept laughing at me but I was really freaked.  Now, I’ve gotten used to it.  We bought season 1 on DVD and I look forward to the new episodes every week.  Zombies and all.  Although I still close my eyes every time a zombie makes an appearance.

What is the funniest TV show you have ever watched? Not sure if there’s just one.  Big Bang Theory leaves me in stitches every week.  That 70s Show is probably my all time favorite sitcom.  @#$! My Dad Says was freaking hilarious but they canceled it.  William Shatner was gold in that show.  Or maybe it’s because he reminded me of my own dad and the weird crap he says.

Name a TV show series in which you have seen every episode at least twice: Um…Buffy, Angel, Firefly, SG-1, Veronica Mars, That 70s Show.  Probably getting close on Big Bang Theory and HIMYM just because my husband and/or kids watch it in syndication every day. Probably the first 12 or so seasons of The Simpsons at least.  Maybe more although I haven’t seen most of the last 5 seasons.  It just got old.  I watch if there’s nothing else on.  And I’m working on Farscape.

Name a show you can’t miss: Well we DVR everything so we can watch at our own leisure but I can’t wait every week to watch Castle, Bones, Fringe, Big Bang Theory.  There are more but those are the ones I just HAVE to watch as soon as possible.  The others I can wait around a few weeks before I realize I’m missing something and then I have a little marathon catching up on all the missed episodes.

Name an actor that would make you more inclined to watch a show:  I don’t know.  I really don’t keep track of that but if they were on another show I really loved than I’ll probably check it out.

Name an actor who would make you less likely to watch a show: Ellen Degeneres…she just annoys the hell out of me (although I liked the show she had way back when)

Name a show you can, and do, quote from: I’m sure there are some…I took up saying “dumbass” after watching That 70s Show.  It’s probably my favorite word, lol.  I say a lot of stuff from that show.  My favorite quote is “you know I love my family but sometimes I just want to get in the car and run them all over.”  I giggle every time.  Kitty says that to Donna when everyone forgets her birthday.  I probably quote from Buffy some, too.  I’ve been known to start doing the “buttons, buttons,” scene when Spike is all crazy and Willow can’t see the gang and they can’t see her.  My kids just roll their eyes at me now.  And I know I say “for crying out loud” a lot more since I started watching SG-1.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

