Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Nose in a Book

Over the summer I got really bored and decided to take up reading again. Okay, that’s not really how it happened. There was a book I found at the store I wanted to read (after reading The Hunger Games trilogy earlier in the year) so I bought it. Then I had to immediately buy the sequel. It took like 4 days to read them and then I got bored. Meagan had a post-apocalypse book I bought her awhile ago that she said I should read. With nothing else to do I read it.

And then I got hooked on young adult dystopian novels. Then I turned to the library. I’ve had a card since the spring but our local branch doesn’t have much selection so I started putting books on hold so they’d get shipped from other branches. Now I’m constantly picking books up from the library.

Since August when I started reading I’ve finished over 40 books. Then add in the three Hunger Games books and I read a boatload. There were times I averaged a new book every 2 days. I’ve read many in less than a day. And now I’ve kind of moved to reading YA romance, too. The kind that are just sweet and innocent and so cute. Which is funny because when I read fanfiction I dislike that kind of stuff.

Here’s a list of books I’ve read this year:
MARCH
The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins
Catching Fire, Suzanne Collins

APRIL
Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins

AUGUST
Divergent, Veronica Roth
Insurgent, Veronica Roth
Life As We Knew It, Susan Beth Pfeffer

SEPTEMBER
Matched, Ally Condie
The Dead and the Gone, Susan Beth Pfeffer
This World We Live In, Susan Beth Pfeffer
Article 5, Kristen Simmons
Crossed, Ally Condie
Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury
The Declaration, Gemma Malley
The Resistance, Gemma Malley

OCTOBER
Naked In Death, JD Robb
Defiance, CJ Redwine
Partials, Dan Wells
Gone, Michael Grant
Legend, Marie Lu
The Giver, Lois Lowry
The Postman, David Brin
The Passage, Justin Cronin
Glow, Amy Kathleen Ryan
Spark, Amy Kathleen Ryan
American Gods, Neil Gaiman
Pines, Blake Crouch

NOVEMBER
Monument 14, Emmy Laybourne
The City of Ember, Jeanne DuPrau
Enclave, Ann Aguirre
Delirium, Lauren Oliver
Pandemonium, Lauren Oliver
Under the Never Sky, Veronica Rossi
Shatter Me, Tahereh Mafi
Daylight Saving, Edward Hogan
The Maze Runner, James Dashner
Reached, Ally Condie

DECEMBER
The Cold Dish, Craig Johnson
Hunger, Michael Grant
Lies, Michael Grant
The Boy Recession, Flynn Meany
Meant to Be, Lauren Morrill
Outpost, Ann Aguirre
After Hello, Lisa Mangum
Origin, Jessica Koury
Unwind, Neal Shusterman

That last book I read yesterday after finishing Origin. Started in the late morning I think and finished it around 2am (technically today).

Still left in my room to read:
In Too Deep, Amanda Grace
Winter Town, Stephen Emond
The Twelve, Justin Cronin
Sneak, Evan Angler
The Scorch Trials, James Dashner
Eve & Adam, Michael Grant

I also have 4 books ready to be picked up from the library:
Death Without Company, Craig Johnson
Glitch, Heather Anastasiu
Along For the Ride, Sarah Dessen
The Disenchantments, Nina LeCour

There’s still a week left in the year so I’ll probably get through at least three or four books. Some of the ones in my room are short so they’ll be quick reads. The Twelve is really long. I rarely watch TV any more and I’m horribly behind in all my shows. I used to read a lot as a kid but since I grew up and had kids I rarely read at all until now. I just can’t seem to get enough and since I have nothing else to do I just read all day.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

