Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Book Review: Rock Your Plot

Review of Rock Your Plot by Cathy Yardly

rockyourplotStarted: 9/10/13; finished: 9/11/13

My Goodreads rating: 4/5 stars

my rating: great

pages: kindle edition

found: my kindle library

 

I’ve always been a pantser when it comes to writing but that turned into a bit of a disaster after finishing the rough draft of my first novel (which seriously lacked a plot).

My friend got me this book after I freaked out during rewrites–I can’t thank her enough.

I’ve read other writing help books/sites but this one broke down outlining and plotting in a way that my brain seems to understand. The examples are simple and clear, easy to visualize and often very funny. My only issue was the numerous glaring grammar errors and typos. I find that unacceptable in a book about the craft of writing (sorry, but I just expect more).

Otherwise it was a great (short) read. I can’t wait to put the techniques to use as I plot out my 2nd novel in preparation for NaNoWriMo.

I highly recommend this book to anyone that is trying to figure out how to outline their first novel or needs a little help getting organized.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

