Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Book Review: The Way Life Should Be

Review of The Way Life Should Be by Christina Baker Kline

thewaylifeshouldbeStarted: 9/17/13; finished: 9/22/13

Goodreads rating: 3/5 stars

my rating: OK

pages: 288 (hardcover)

found: library

 

In my quest to read more books with characters in my age bracket I picked up this book. The story is about Angela—a 30-something year old who has a flair for Italian cooking (thanks to her grandmother), a job she doesn’t like, and a love-life going nowhere. To say the least she is in a funk.

Then she clicks on the tiny link to a dating site. Scrolling through the profiles she finds MaineCatch—a guy completely unlike any she has dated. He runs a sailing school, lives on an island, fishes, and lives a simple life. Something Angela finds herself longing for.

When her job takes a nosedive thanks to a catastrophic mistake she makes she finds herself at a crossroads. Two roads are diverging, but which one will she take. Surprising herself and best friend she chooses to pack up and move to Maine. But things there don’t go as planned.

Now she’s stuck with no job, no friends and no direction in her life. Amazingly that might be just what she needs.

 

This book wasn’t bad. I liked the characters and the friendship between them as they learn to cook and deal with their lives. But it didn’t WOW me like the previous two adult books I read. It was a quick read, though, and enjoyable. I gave it three stars at Goodreads and an OK here.

Really, it’s not a bad story but it didn’t give me the tingly feeling I get with a real good book.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

