Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

EPIPHANY!

So, I’m not sure I mentioned it on this blog but back in February I wrote my first novel. I was just trying to write my 750 words a day and I had no plot planned out. I just knew the characters that had come to me in a haze of sleep and started writing them. I finished the novel 6 weeks later. A few weeks after that I started editing/revising and OH BOY did I have a lot to do since there was no logical plot at all.

After months of tearing the thing apart and trying to put it back together, my hair pulling, headdesking and crying to a friend I decided to shelve it for awhile. I needed a break.

I was telling this friend the other day that I think I was ready to go back and look at it again with a fresh take. She reminded me this morning of that so I opened the file and stared at it.

The original title was WHATEVER IT MEANS but as I rewrote I put in a new plot and the more I tried to fit the story to that plot I realized the  book should really revolve around this plot (which was originally going to be something on the side of the main plot) and the name changed to THE SUMMER LIST.

This is where things got messy. Today I was staring at the title page which still bore the original name WHATEVER IT MEANS and I had an epiphany. My problem with the book is that I was trying to smoosh two completely separate novels into one. They were completely different in style, mood and meaning. Duh! Why hadn’t I seen this before

WHATEVER IT MEANS is supposed to be about two teens dealing with their grief after someone important to both of them dies. They can’t stand each other but their common pain brings them together and they find the only person they can talk to about it is each other. Their parents don’t want them near each other but as they keep running into each other and having had conversations about the girl they both loved (in different ways) they start to have feelings for each other which just confuses things even more. It’s the bare basics of the novel I wrote in February without all my added subplots and crazy stuff (that was fun to write but was stupid and didn’t fit the book).

THE SUMMER LIST was meant to be a much lighter fare, like a good feeling, funny, sassy,  summer read based around the dislike between two characters that grow to like each other. Yeah, it’s a trope but I enjoy writing it. I was trying to explain all of this to my husband and then explain how I was going to do some simple outlining for each story.

I was explaining how the outlining worked using my new plot for SUMMER LIST as an example and OMG I suddenly realized I had completely outlined it in my head start to end. WOW. Now the race is on to get it all down on paper.

Now I just need names for the characters in the new THE SUMMER LIST novel. Any suggestions?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “EPIPHANY!

  1. Names?

    Hiroko
    Khalil
    Sharmayne
    Shushila
    Hassan
    Juan

    Like

  2. Jen Connelly on said:

    You went totally multicultural there. Too bad my little PNW town is white central. I think one character is going to be half black and one is a Japanese-American (1st gen). I asked Meagan for name ideas because she is taking Japanese this year and her teacher gave them all Japanese names. So I ended up picking her: Misaki which means beautiful blossom.

    I do like Khalil. Maybe I’ll rearrange the characters (I gave them brief descriptions) and he can be the mixed race kid.

    Thanks for the suggestions. Haven’t talked to you in forever.

    Like

    • Your town’s not as lily-white as it used to be. 2010 Census:
      80.9% White
      5.0% Asian
      4.8% two or more races [10.4% Latino/other race]
      4.3% other races
      2.9% African American
      1.0% Native American
      1.0% Pacific Islander

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vancouver,_Washington#Demographics

      When I was a kid, it was pretty hard to find any juvenile/teen literature that had anything but white characters. And characters who were half white, half Asian, like me? NONEXISTENT.

      Hope you’ve been doing well!

      Like

      • Jen Connelly on said:

        True. I’m trying to diversify a little.

        When I was outlining my trilogy I considered making the heroine part Asian but that’s not how the cover looks because I found the awesome photo. Still I’m considering it. It’s set in the distant future so there really isn’t a thing about different races/ethnicities.

        Like

Leave a Reply

