Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Book Review: Origin by Jennifer Armentrout

Review of Origin by Jennifer Armentrout (book 4 of the Lux series)

originStarted: 10/6/13; finished: 10/9/13

Goodreads rating: 4/5 stars

my rating: ZOMG!

pages: 364

found: library

OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG I absolutely love the Lux series. I wasn’t too sure when I picked up the first one… aliens? I like sci-fi but it sounded corny but I absolutely fell in love with snarky, arrogant, gorgeous Daemon. The other characters were cool, too.

If you haven’t read the first three books prepare for some spoilers. Origin picks up where Opal left off. I think a bit of time has passed but it’s not important. What is important is that Katy got captured and Daemon is on a mad rampage to get her back. He’ll do anything… he’ll burn down the world for her. And there’s nothing that’s going to stop him, not a cell coated in onyx to zap his energy or his family or the might of some secret government agency.

This time the story is told from both Katy’s and Daemon’s POVs so you get to look inside the depraved mind of a teenage boy. Okay, it’s not that bad. Actually it’s a lot of him thinking about how much loves her. Que all the “awwws.”

Anyway the story was kind of slow at the beginning as you got to see what was going on behind the scenes of the group that captured Katy (and, previously, Dawson and Beth). Katy doesn’t know what to believe and Damon makes no waste of time getting caught himself so he can be with her. But a theme running through the book is that nothing ever goes how you think it will go. They can’t tell who is friend or foe, who’s lying and who’s being truthful, who’s capable of what.

Then things speed up as they make a plan to escape. That’s when things really get out of control and the rest of the book one long action sequence it seems. I can see it up on the big screen already.

Mixed in is a lot of really sweet moments between Daemon and Katy and a lot of twists I never saw coming. And one that was glaringly obvious pretty quickly. All in all I loved this edition to the series. I took me a little longer to read than the others (which took me a day and a half each, approximately) because I had to stop and outline my own novel but once I set that aside I breezed through the last 250 pages in a day even with the constant interruptions from my kids.

Also, in case any of you reading this review haven’t read the other books (although I have no idea why you would) you should take note that Jennifer Armentrout is the queen of cliffhangers. Origin is no different. I’m already antsy about getting my hands on the next book. If cliffhangers really bug you then wait until the next book is released and read them all in a row. It should be less painful that way.

OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG I absolutely love the Lux series. I wasn’t too sure when I picked up the first one… aliens? I like sci-fi but it sounded corny but I absolutely fell in love with snarky, arrogant, gorgeous Daemon. The other characters were cool, too.

If you haven’t read the first three books prepare for some spoilers. Origin picks up where Opal left off. I think a bit of time has passed but it’s not important. What is important is that Katy got captured and Daemon is on a mad rampage to get her back. He’ll do anything… he’ll burn down the world for her. And there’s nothing that’s going to stop him, not a cell coated in onyx to zap his energy or his family or the might of some secret government agency.

This time the story is told from both Katy’s and Daemon’s POVs so you get to look inside the depraved mind of a teenage boy. Okay, it’s not that bad. Actually it’s a lot of him thinking about how much loves her. Que all the “awwws.”

Anyway the story was kind of slow at the beginning as you got to see what was going on behind the scenes of the group that captured Katy (and, previously, Dawson and Beth). Katy doesn’t know what to believe and Damon makes no waste of time getting caught himself so he can be with her. But a theme running through the book is that nothing ever goes how you think it will go. They can’t tell who is friend or foe, who’s lying and who’s being truthful, who’s capable of what.

Then things speed up as they make a plan to escape. That’s when things really get out of control and the rest of the book one long action sequence it seems. I can see it up on the big screen already.

Mixed in is a lot of really sweet moments between Daemon and Katy and a lot of twists I never saw coming. And one that was glaringly obvious pretty quickly. All in all I loved this edition to the series. I took me a little longer to read than the others (which took me a day and a half each, approximately) because I had to stop and outline my own novel but once I set that aside I breezed through the last 250 pages in a day even with the constant interruptions from my kids.

Also, in case any of you reading this review haven’t read the other books (although I have no idea why you would) you should take note that Jennifer Armentrout is the queen of cliffhangers. Origin is no different. I’m already antsy about getting my hands on the next book. If cliffhangers really bug you then wait until the next book is released and read them all in a row. It should be less painful that way.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

