Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Book Review: Crash Into You by Katie McGarry

Review of Crash Into You by Katie McGarry

crashintoyouStarted: 10/9/13; finished: 10/10/13

Goodreads rating: 5/5 stars

my rating: ZOMG!

pages:

found: netgalley.com

 

This book is due to be released November 26, 2013

This was an ARC I received through NetGalley and am I ever grateful for the wonderful people at Harlequin TEEN for letting me get my hands on it.

I absolutely love this series by Katie McGarry. This is the third book but can totally be read as a stand alone. There are cameos from characters in the first two books but known their back story isn’t important to understand and completely fall in love with the characters in this book.

Crash Into You is the story of Isaiah—the tattooed, pierced, car loving foster kid—and Rachel—the youngest of “five” kids who suffers from severe panic attacks and has to play a part to make her family happy.

Looking at them they are complete opposites, completely wrong for each other, completely doomed. But they both have a love of muscle cars, driving fast and loyalty. They meet at an illegal drag race where Rachel doesn’t do so hot but when she saves Isaiah from a police raid a friendship forms that slowly grows into something else.

But for Isaiah and Rachel nothing is easy. There are street tugs after them, money that needs to be won, overprotective brothers, social workers, car accidents and parents. All wrapped up in a sweet, sweet love story with a ton of angst and a lot of horsepower. Left me with chills.

What I love most about this book (and all Katie McGarry’s book) is her writing style and the way she can make an honest character. I really believed these characters were real. I felt their pain. There were actual tears! I wanted to reach out and hug them both. It was her characters that dragged me into each book and kept me reading through the night (seriously it’s 4:30am here).

Some might complain about the flowery prose, the near insta-love, the angst and the fact that they could have solved half their problems if they would have asked for help from Rachel’s parents or anyone. But I thrive on that stuff in my books so it didn’t bother me at all. If those kind of books aren’t your thing you might want to steer clear of this book.

All in all it left me with a ZOMG! feeling. Not quite a GAH (which would be my highest rating). I was left feeling zingy with energy. Except it’s 4:30am and I need to get to bed. That’s probably not a good combo.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

