Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Book Review: Crashing Into You by B.D. Rowe

Review of Crashing Into You by B.D. Rowe

crashingintoyouStarted: 10/13/13; finished: 10/13/13

Goodreads rating: 3/5 stars

my rating: OK

pages: 165

found: netgalley

 

I got this book through netgalley because the blurb sounded interesting. I have a few mixed feelings about it. I thought the beginning was good. I loved the banter between Sydney and Evan, they were really cute together and I love the whole unrequited love aspect. And Sydney with Lukas was cute, too.

I loved when Sydney and Evan finally figured out their feelings for each other and Lukas finding someone to love. There were a lot of steamy scenes and a lot of funny ones.

On the other hand there were a lot of WTF? Moments. I don’t want to spoil too much but the way Melanie dies just had me rolling my eyes. It was just way too out there. And the way Sydney reacted whenever drinking was brought up. I understand her issues with it but she keeps saying she’s okay with her friends drinking but then gives lectures and acts all pissy. Make up your mind already—are you okay with it or not.

Then things get stupid at the end.

Really, this book should have ended after Sydney and Evan finally got together and Lukas found Robert. It would have been a nice sweet little love story. A short story. The rest just seemed like drama tacked on to the end that made little sense.

So really I’m giving three stars for the first half and a WTF? for the end but it kept me reading to find out the truth. But the ending was a let down. After all these great moments where the book could have ended happily she keeps going and ends it with a big question mark about the future. Maybe she plans a sequel. This was the author’s first book. I liked the writing for the most part although Sydney’s constant dreams and fantasies about sleeping with Evan came off as kind of skeezy since Evan was her roommate’s boyfriend and they happened way too often.

I think the characters needed a little more development and for the plot to make a little more sense. Everything happened very quickly leading to a quick read (I read it over a few hours while watching a football game and eating pizza). Some stretching of events and padding could have made this into a much better novel.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

