Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Book Review: How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski

Review of How My Summer Went Up In Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski

howmysummerwentupinflamesStarted: 10/12/13; finished: 10/13/13

Goodreads rating: 4/5 stars

my rating: AWWW

pages: 320

found: library

I have a thing for road trip stories, especially after my family’s crazy, disastrous move from Chicago to the Portland, OR area years ago. How My Summer Went Up in Flames starts with Rosie blowing up her ex-boyfriend’s car. At least that’s what it says on the Temporary Restraining Order she receives. She swears she only set a box of mementos on fire then watched from a distance as Joey came out. Uh, did I mention the stalking? That might have been part of the TOR, too.

Worrying about their daughter’s obsession her parents agree to send her on a road trip with the boy next door, Matty, who Rosie has known forever. Joining them are Matty’s friend, Spencer and Spencer’s hot older brother, Logan who comes off as a real control freak in Rosie’s opinion.

Over the course of a week and 3000+ miles the group drives from New Jersey to California. Rosie learns a lot about who she was, who she is and who she really wants to be. And as annoying as the boys are she can’t help but feel affectionate for them, fart jokes and all. They’re her boys. She’s especially sad when the trip is over and she has to say good-bye to Logan who’s staying behind to go to college.

 

I loved the internal struggle Rosie went through as she tried to rid herself of the obsession over her ex and figure out what she really wants from her life. And Logan… one minute the biggest pain in the ass in the world and the next the sweetest guy you could ever meet. He could keep a girl confused for a long while. But my favorite thing about him is his little lasso move to round everyone up and back in the car. It made me smile every time. I also loved all the bickering and banter between all the characters. Hell, I just loved all the characters and how the guys were always looking out for Rosie. I always wished I had friends like that.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

