Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Wanna play a game?

I did this game with my seven year old daughter (Nora) to help her brainstorm for her YWP project. I gave her a basic character to start with: one of her characters from her Sims game which happened to be her as a fairy. She has pink wings.

Then I asked her if the fairy was a normal person in their world or something different. She chose different. The next question was she a big fairy or a teeny, tiny fairy. She said tiny. And from there we just kind of developed the character and storyline. It’s very simple since she is seven but I loved the idea so much I wrote it down for future development.

Anyway the game would run similarly. We all start with a blank character. Just a cutout of a human shape. Or a wire frame to mold onto.

I’ll ask the first question which will have two choices. Pick one and reply to my comment. The first person to comment can ask the next question (can be anything) but keep the choices down to two or three. This is supposed to be a basic idea, not in depth development.

So any of my 8 followers want to play? Want to pass the game around to your own followers who like to write or just want to have fun?

I’ll start us out in the first comment. Remember we’re starting with a blank human for this challenge (we can do other concepts like settings or plots later).

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Wanna play a game?

  1. Jen Connelly on said:

    First question:

    Is your character male or female?

    (please use the “reply” button to this comment to keep things organized. Only use the comment box to ask a new question, thanks)

    Like

  2. I’m totally cheating here and using Wes. I’m going to post the current questions on my blog and link over here, if that works for you. But here are mine. Are you going to update this post with all of the questions or what?

    1: Is your character a man or woman?
    Man! (Or a boy, but he’s 22.)

    2: Is your character young, middle-aged, or elderly?
    Young in age, and even younger at heart.

    3: Does your character live alone or with other people (you can mention which people if you like)?
    At the beginning of the story, he lives with his best friend Devin. He’s really never lived all alone, although in his short time at Multiversity (a year and a half to two years), he lived in a dormitory with a roommate who wasn’t around much. He was really, really lonely until he met Devin the second year.

    4: What color is your character’s eyes (you may pick any color you want)?
    Black

    5: What word best describes yiur character? Frugal, tightwad, responsible, irresponsible, low-income, middle-class, or wealthy?
    Well, Wes himself doesn’t have ANY income, and Devin kind of… scrapes by. So at the time of the book, low-income? Wes actually comes from a very wealthy family, but they’re not supporting him financially because he wants to make his own way.

    6: Does your character have a job and if so what does he/she do?
    He doesn’t have a paying job, but he cooks and cleans and does all the grocery shopping.

    7: Where in the universe does you character live (city, state, country, planet, dimension)?
    He and Devin live a ways outside Majestic City. I’m not sure if that’s the only city in their territory (which I thiiiiink I have decided is called Majeria), but it’s definitely the largest (and also the only one they’ve told me about so far).

    8: What does your character loathe?
    Flowers.

    Like

    • Jen Connelly on said:

      dude, you’re supposed to challenge yourself to create a new person. Just for fun. Sigh. I was going to run this one separate from the one on facebook. So if you please answer question one with a reply to my comment (unless for some reason you can’t because that happened to Cirny using her phone). And then suggest a new question. Come on Sarah, stretch a little. This is supposed to take your mind off of Cliffton for a few minutes. Please?

      Like

      • It’s such a foreign concept to me! Like… making people. I’ll see if I can give it a shot later. Unfortunately, my vomiting kiddo and on-call weekend for work (plus the books I’ve been rereading) have been taking my mind off Cliffton (and everything else, ha!) for the better part of a week now. 😄

        Like

Leave a Reply

