Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Book Review: The Summer I Found You by Jolene Perry

Review of The Summer I Found You by Jolene Perry

thesummerifoundyouStarted: 11/18/13; finished: 11/19/13

Goodreads rating: 5/5 stars

my rating: GAH

pages: 239

found: netgalley

Okay, so I’m trying to finish up the last 13,000 words or so of my NaNoWriMo novel and I’m just kind floating there with no motivation or inspiration. I need to read, I think. I need some good old-fashioned teen love drama to get me in the right mood to write my teen love drama novel.

And boy did I get it with this book. I gave it five stars probably because I was in such a mood for this kind of book. It just had me all twisted up inside. In a good way.

The book is about Kate, a senior in high school, who has been dealing with the diagnosis of Type 1 Diabetes for a year. Or more precisely, not dealing with it. She’s got her parents and sister and best friend worrying about her constantly, making her feel closed in. Then her boyfriend breaks up with her. Here comes the teen drama. Oh, how perfectly this book captured the melodrama of being seventeen.

Enter, Aiden Connelly (which happens to be a name we almost chose for our last child). He’s living above the garage of Kate’s best friend, her cousin. Aiden’s trying to figure out his life after losing his arm in Afghanistan.

The two get set up, sort of, by Jen (the best friend) as a kind of distraction from their problems. Despite Kate saying just about every inappropriate thing you could say to a guy with only one arm there’s a connection between them.

The book is from both POVs so you get to see how confused both of them are as they wade through their ever changing lives and slowly fall in love. Okay, it wasn’t that slow, but it takes them awhile to figure it out.

 

I know a lot of people don’t like this kind of drama but I live for it. I loved the heartache and confusion and fears. Heck, I’m almost 37 and I still have a lot of that drama going on in my life—like finishing school and figuring out what I want to do with my life once my kids are all in school.

I did feel some of the book was predictable and Kate kind of annoyed me that she wasn’t taking things seriously but she’s only 17. I can picture myself at that age just wanting to ignore the problem instead of facing it straight on. I kind of did that with my own crippling depression.

I LOVED Aiden, though. Even Kate describing his shoulder and scars… it made him all the more appealing. And I loved how he was written, muddling through life trying to figure out how to live with only one arm. And not his dominate arm. I felt his frustration and anger. I remember in grade school we did this experiment where we all taped our thumbs to our palms and went around for the day without opposable thumbs. It was nearly impossible to do anything.

My only big complaint is they never say the words. They both say they really like each other but I wanted those three little words. Still, I thought it was a beautiful story.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

