Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Guest Post by Jo Schneider, Author of New Sight

Because Jo is super cool (who doesn’t like that in an author?) she wrote a guest post for me about popsicles and writing. I swear it makes sense.


 

Some People Won’t Get It

by Jo Schneider

I grew up in a small-ish town called Bountiful. It sits just north of Salt Lake City, and even now that the rich people have built houses all the way up the mountainside, Bountiful still feels homey.

And not in a bad way.

As a kid, we always got these popsicles on field day at the end of the school year. They are seriously the best popsicles in the world. Hands down.

The little hole-in-the-wall place that makes them is called Pace’s, Dairy Ann. It’s been around for a long, long time, and people in Bountiful have a love for it that runs deep. Deep like the ocean. Only there’s no ocean in Utah.

Anyway, locals adore the place. I remember being out of Utah for a few years, and Pace’s is one of the first things I wanted when I came home. Peach Rainbow, that’s all I’m saying.

But, people who didn’t grow up here are less than impressed with Pace’s.

First off, it’s kind of a dive—little, usually crowded, never quite clean and it always smells of onion rings. Which are delicious, by the way.

Second, the presentation is terrible. Brown paper bags with grease stains that come through about six seconds after the fries get put in. Immediately if you get onion rings.

Non-natives aren’t that into it.

I didn’t understand until Inn-N-Out burger moved into town. I’d heard all the hype, and was more than willing to try another great burger place.

So I went with some friends, got my food, sat down, probably rubbed my hands together, and ate a fry.

And was not impressed. The burger didn’t offset the “meh” I had for the fries, and a Diet Coke is a Diet Coke.

Yes, yes I was told I should have ordered the whole thing monster style and added a shake, but who was I to know?

It was at that moment that I understood why outsiders didn’t care for Pace’s.

They didn’t get it. How could they?

Writing is like that. There are going to be people who will read your stuff, and shrug. Others will rant and rave about it, in both good and bad ways.

Why the swing? Because people are different. Even people who read fantasy may not like my YA fantasy novel, because it also has a bit of sci-fi in it, and there are no vampires. Or demons. Or tragified girls who pine for chapters on end. Or epic quests.

They won’t “get it.”

And that’s fine. They’re not the people I wrote the story for.

This concept is pretty much true for any artistic endeavor as well as something as simple as your sense of humor. The blank stares, the slow blinks…they don’t get it. Move on. Go have some fun with people who get it, and enjoy life!

Oh, and go to Pace’s and get a popsicle. You won’t regret it.


 

I don’t know about Pace’s, I’ve only driven through Utah twice, but she had me at greasy paper bags. If I ever find myself north of Salt Lake City I’ll be sure to check it out. I totally get her on the writing, though.

Thank you, Jo, for writing a great post.

 

and don’t forget:

IF YOU WANT TO ENTER THE RAFFLE:

check out my tumblr

New Sight comes out April 22, find it at

Amazon.com
Goodreads

find Jo at these places

her blog
facebook
twitter

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

