Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Poetry from a friend

clouds-deansearle

(c) 2009 Dean Searle via flickr.com

As I sit
by Javier Mendoza

As I sit alone on the edge of a cloud,
Whistling a heavenly tune,
While watching the beauty of nature surrounding me,
Feeling the love from everything of life,
I had to let go of things that
Society had blinded me with:
Corruption, ignorance, materialism,
the imitation of treacherous people.

I had to look away from all of the hatred,
The destruction of our planet,
The destruction of our country,
The destruction of our people,
Even ourselves.

As I sit here so blissful, meek, and enlightened.


I’ve known Javier since he was five years old–over thirty years now. He went to kindergarten with my younger brother, and they became fast friends. My mom sort of adopted him, and watched out for him growing up. He became a brother to us. I remember how devastated he was to learn that my mom had died. I think he cried harder than I did at her funeral. To this day he opens every message to me with, “hey sis…”

Looking at him you’d see this big, bald Mexican guy. He’s intimidating. But underneath he’s so sweet and thoughtful. You’d never suspect that he writes deep, beautiful poetry. I love him to death.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

