Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Camp NaNo April – Day 4 recap

Camp-2017-Participant-Twitter-HeaderIt’s my daughter’s 11th birthday today. Happy Birthday, sweetie! She’s 2,000 miles away at her grandmother’s funeral right now, but I heard they got her a cake. Better than the raw cookie dough I’m eating for dinner.

Or is it?

If you’re wondering what I’m doing here (besides talking about my horrible eating habits), check out this post.

I spent the better part of the day brainstorming all of the previous stories I’ve written for Camp. I think I’ll be able to salvage all of them. I’m not so sure Bellamy can salvage his sanity from day one. But we’ll see.

Day 4: fear

“The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.” A really smart guy said that a really long time ago. He wasn’t Clarke Griffin, and he didn’t crash land in the middle of the apocalypse.

For Clarke, there are all sorts of things she’s afraid of, but mostly, she’s afraid of herself. And her feelings.

She doesn’t like to admit she’s running away from them when she heads for the dropship, but if she’s honest with herself, that’s exactly what she’s doing. She just needs to be alone with her thoughts. Except the dropship isn’t empty. And neither is the bottle of moonshine in Bellamy’s hand.

The point FDR was trying to make is that you have to face your fears head on. Maybe alcohol can help Clarke with that. Bellamy’s more than happy to share, but as we probably already know, reality–even in fanfiction–doesn’t work that way. Bellamy + Clarke + Monty’s moonshine can only lead one place. And Clarke’s not sure she’s ready to move there.

I mean, the world is ending. And honestly, she barely knows Bellamy. There’s so much guilt and anger and pain between them that she doesn’t know which emotions are his and which are hers. And there’s Lexa. She can’t forget Lexa.

There’s no way this chance meeting will go well.

The End.

Ha! You thought they might get a happy ending? Happy endings are for schmucks. But don’t worry–I have plans for this story to resolve some of that UST.

Bonus:

“You got any of that for me?” she asks.

He looks down at the bottle for a moment then passes it to her. “What are you doing here?”

“Probably the same thing as you–avoiding reality.”

He laughs. “Close enough.”

Check out the other recaps:
Day 1: torture I mean survive
Day 2: redo
Day 3: sunshine

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

