Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Camp NaNo April – Day 30 and Camp recap

Camp-2017-Winner-Profile-PhotoIt’s over! It’s over! I can’t believe it. It’s the first time I’ve won Camp NaNo, although I’ve only tried like three other times over the last few years. I feel very accomplished even though all I did was add 29 stories to my WIP folder.

My grand total was 76,502 words over 30 days. I didn’t miss a single day. And that doesn’t include all of the journaling/brainstorming I did for the stories. That was 26k yesterday alone!

I’m riding high right now, but I’m also exhausted. I celebrated by cleaning the garage which I’d been putting off for a month. My brain is fried and my wrists hurt from typing so much, so my plan is to take it easy in May–some light journaling/brainstorming, at least 100 words to a WIP, and one hour of editing every day. The editing is going to be the part that trips me up.

The only downer at the moment is that I didn’t publish one story each week like I planned. I didn’t even get two stories out last month. I kind of feel all of the recaps I did make up for it, but I plan to get three stories out this month.

On to the last Camp recap!

Day 30: betray

Nobody said living in the bunker would be easy, but three months in and people are ready to kill each other. It’s all Bellamy can do to keep the peace. When it all gets to be too much, he finds a quiet space in a dark, abandoned tunnel. Clarke always knows where to find him, and she’s exactly what he needs after another rough day.

With Clarke he doesn’t have to spell out his problems. He doesn’t have to say anything at all. She just knows what he needs to hear and when he needs to hear it. She’s always been great that way. For Bellamy, these intimate little chats never last long enough, but his butt is numb and he’s bone tired.

Talking with Clarke did brighten his day a little. Too bad nothing good ever lasts long for Bellamy. He hears a banging noise coming from a storage closet. He can’t not investigate. What he finds is almost too horrible to comprehend. Now he’s rushing a bleeding Luna to their makeshift medbay. And things don’t look good.

The End.

There’s a lot that will be going on in the story–what I wrote was mostly just Clarke and Bellamy talking about how tired they are.

Bonus:

Clarke squeezes his knee, sending a shiver through his body. She does things like this now, and he never knows what they mean. It’s like she wants to throw him more off balance. Is everyone plotting against him? But this is Clarke. He lays his hand on top of hers, wrapping his fingers around hers. She smiles up at him, and he suddenly feels like he can’t breathe. He has no idea how or why she has this effect on him.

That’s a lie. He knows exactly why she has this effect. He wants to tell her. It’s on the tip of his tongue, but he bites it back. It’s not the right time. He doesn’t deserve her yet. Maybe never, but he’s got to try to earn that back. Instead he squeezes her hand, getting her attention. “Are you okay?”

He can barely see the faint smile on her face. “Of course.” He arches an eyebrow and Clarke sighs. “No, not really. Not at all.”

Bellamy snorts. “Finally, an honest answer.”

She glares at him but then just sighs again, leaning her head against his shoulder. “It’s hard being the leader,” she whispers.

“Yeah.”

Other recaps:
Day 1 – survive
Day 2 – redo
Day 3 – sunshine
Day 4 – fear
Day 5 – inside
Day 6 – share  FINISHED!
Day 7 – annoy
Day 8 – guard
Day 9 – Heaven
Day 10 – blood 
Day 11 – promise
Day 12 – discover
Day 13 – together
Day 14 – try
Day 15 – experiment
Day 16 – illusive
Day 17 – phone
Day 18 – trust
Day 19 – threat 
Day 20 – breath
Day 21 – fall
Day 22 – mind
Day 23 – writer’s choice
Day 24 – mistake
Day 25 – collide
Day 26 – life
Day 27 – remember
Day 28 – sympathy
Day 29 – dispose

FINISHED STORIES!!!
Handle with Care – share (day 6)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

