Just Another Blog

my random ramblings about crafts, writing, books and kids

Camp NaNoWriMo Redux

Camp-2017-Participant-Profile-PhotoIf you’re having a bit of deja vu, that’s okay. You’re not imagining that I posted about Camp NaNo before. Unlike NaNoWriMo, you get two opportunities to go to Camp NaNo–April and July.

It took me a while to decide whether or not to do Camp this month. April burnt me out. I haven’t really wanted to write since then and did almost no editing on all of those stories I started. That is not good.

Yesterday, I started convincing myself I really needed to do this–I need to get stories finished and posted online. What I lacked is real motivation. And then the newest Untu zone opened at 4thewords.com. And that’s just what I needed. New monsters. New quests. Lots of writing to be had. But I needed new goals to achieve.

So instead of starting a new story and forcing myself to write 1,000 words each day, I’m toning things down. My goal is to add at least 100 new words to projects I started in April (or March) and edit those projects for at least an hour each day. That seems doable. 100 words is less than ten minutes of writing. The harder part will be the editing. Made even more difficult by the fact that the kids are on summer break, so they are interrupting me even more than usual.

But I shall persist.

So here’s to another successful Camp NaNoWriMo! Anyone else joining me?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

